Kogi Guber: Despite Court Verdict; SDP Structure in Kogi Collapses into APC, Declares Support for Gov Bello


Despite the recent Court judgment that ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to include the logo of the Social Democratic Party, SDP on the ballot for the November 16 Governorship election in Kogi, top-ranking executives, members and supporters of the SDP in Kogi State have moved to the All Progressives Congress while declaring their unalloyed support for the APC governorship candidate His Excellency Yahaya Bello.

The deputy woman leader of SDP Haijia Ejigbo Ramat Ladidi said their decision to defect to APC is born out of the leadership disposition of Governor Yahaya Bello in developing the state through youths & women empowerment, creation of enabling environment for businesses to boom, infrastructural development as well as various state government reforms that have repositioning the state.

Hajia Ejigbo Ramat Ladidi maintained that they have seen the passion & love the present state government under the leadership of His Excellency Yahaya Bello, saying that the difference is clear, hence, the need to collapse into APC is Paramount.
She assured the governor of their unflinching support before, during & after the governorship election, noting that more than ninety per cent of SDP has dumped the party for APC.

Like Our Facebook page

In his comment, the SDP state youth leader Mr Oseni Saidu explained that they have seen light in the APC and the need to work for the ruling party in Kogi state remain sacrosanct while emphasizing that their defection to APC in their thousand signified a victory for the APC governorship candidate and his running mate. He noted SDP was no longer a political party but a registered business organization where few members of the party deceive unsuspected individuals to collect money and embark on hatchet jobs for the major opposition party in the state.

He said there is no wisdom in supporting a candidate who can't secure ten per cent of the total votes cast, urged other few members of the SDP to queue behind APC in order to enable them to benefit from the laudable gains of the New Direction government of Kogi state.
The state treasurer of the SDP Mrs Rashida Attah said she is overwhelmed with the way APC government is making an impact in the lives of the people of the state; hence, she is motivated to decamp to APC. She further pointed out that, their members who are defecting today cut across the twenty-one LGA of the state & expressed confidence in the victory of APC in this month election.
The SDP State Publicity Secretary of SDP, Hon Bahawudeen said the party in Kogi State no longer function as a political party but a business venture for few individuals within the party.
Responding, the state governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello who was represented by the state deputy governor, Chief Edward Onoja praised them for taking the right step in contributing to the development of Kogi state, assuring them of equal opportunity with the old members of the party.

The deputy governor admonished them to remain steadfast in their quest to work with APC, stressing that victory has been achieved already, looking at the mammoth crowd that joining the ruling party in the state.
Chief Edward Onoja told the newly defected members from SDP to APC to intensify efforts in ensuring that their decision will yield positive results, pointing out that the leadership of the present government rewards hard work.
The secretary to the state government, Doctor folashade Ayoade Arike thanked the former SDP members for their timely decision to join the ruling party at this critical moment, saying they will be part of the history of the APC victory in this month gubernatorial election in Kogi state.

READ ALSO  Court Seating in Koton-Karfe Nullifies Kogi Assembly Resolution Recommending Chief Judge’s Removal

Leaders of the SDP present at the meeting were;
Hon Bahawudeen (SDP State Publicity Secretary).
Ramatu Ladidi Jebo, State Assistant Women Leader
Husseini Saidu, Youth Leader
Rashidat Attah, State treasurer of the party
Idowu Omole, Zonal Women Leader
Hon Manhood A. Lamidi (SDP Zonal Chairman & Leader, Kogi Central).
Hon. Mustapha Aliyu (SDP Okene LG Party Chairman).
Mrs Memunat Ishaq (SDP Okene Woman Leader).
Mr Jibril Abdul Aziz (SDP Ajaokuta Chairman of all ward chairmen) and their excos.
And other members.

READ ALSO  Kogi Poly School Fees Saga; SUG President Comrade UMAR JAFARU OMEIZA, called for calm

Want To Support Us By Donating Click Here


Article Rating


Stories You May find Interesting

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments