While many are praising the bold steps taking by kogi east elders council to resolve the issues of too many governorship aspirants from Kogi East, others are condemning the choice of AVM Atawodi for PDP and Mr Sani Lulu for APC.

Let's dissect it politically with Igala interest.

First, it was aspirants that called on kogi east elders council to trim down the numerous number of aspirants to 1 or 2 and they all agreed to accept the outcome of the trimming screening.

Like Our Facebook page

Secondly, the criteria were set up to aid the screwing and selection of candidates. After the screening, the selection was to be done by the kogi east elders council and not the screening committee.

The elders council looked at the report and took their decision within a period of 6 hours. First, the build up of political dynasty by Ibrahim and Audu families were discouraged therefore leading to the disqualification of Alh Abubakar Ibrahim Idris, Muhammed Audu and Mona Audu.

Also failure of leadership was consider. Any leader who have failed to perform during the first is not qualified for the second Tenor and this decision led to the elimination of Captain Idris Wada

Zoning system was also considered. Earlier, the governorship position started with Idah when prince Abubakar Audu became the governor but he only rule for a single Tenor, it move to Ankpa zone with the coming of Alh Ibrahim Idris who completed his two tenor in office. After Ankpa zone/axis it moved to Dekina with the coming of captain Idris Wada but according to the criteria set up, any zone/axis whose governor failed to perform after the first tenor can longer contest for the second tenor and also the governorship position will automatically move to the next zone/axis.

Therefore, Idah was considered to be the next zone/axis to produce the next governor of kogi state from Kogi East. Because wada came from Dekina axis but failed to perform and secondly Dekina axis is currently holding the position of kogi east senatorial seat in the person of Sen. Jibrin Isah. Therefore, zoning the governorship seat to Dekina again simply means Dekina axis will have both the governor and Senate at the same time leaving others with nothing.

The axis to produce the governor now is Idah axis. From Idah axis, Muhammed Audu came first for APC and Ubolo also came first under the platform of PDP. Both from Ofu LG. But the elders in their wisdom said there is need for all local government from Kogi East to produce the governor. Therefore, any local government that have produced before will no longer be eligible. With this, Ofu local government was disqualified from contesting leaving Igalamela/Odolu, Idah and Ibaji to contest. Ibaji has no aspirant except Idah and Igalamela/odolu local governments. From Igalamela/odolu we have AVM Atawodi and he was selected to fly the flag of PDP and from Idah Mr Sani Lulu was selected to contest under the platform of APC.

Kogi East elders council then advised all other aspirants to stepped down for AVM Atawodi of PDP and Sani Lulu of APC.

Kogi elders council is chair by Senator(Dr) Amadu Alih while the aspirants screening committee was chaired by Elder Sule Iyaji

Comrade Omale Monday


Article Rating


Latest News

About omokoshaban 10400 Articles
Scientists | Blogger | CEO | Entrepreneur
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments