Press briefing by the forum of the All Progressive Congress (APC) National and State Assembly Members-Elect in Kogi State


Dated May 8th, 2019



Like Our Facebook page

We want to sincerely welcome you all, to this press briefing to keep the general public abreast of our determination and commitment to ensure victory for His Excellency, Alhaji Yahaya Bello and the All Progress Congress (APC) come November 2nd, 2019 Governorship Election in the state.

It has become imperative for us, the APC National and State House of Assembly members-elect from Kogi State being members of the All Progress Congress and critical stakeholders in the party/state to make our position known as regard the forthcoming election in the state.

We have read in the national dailies and online platforms recently many rumours of sorts just to create animosity between the government and the people of the state, hence there is need to add our voice.

All politics is local and the various constituencies which we represent are closest to the people of the grassroots. We are therefore in the best position to inform the media that 90% of the accusations of harshness and non-performance levied against His Excellency Yahaya Bello are unfounded.

First, as a forum, we want to sincerely use this medium to appreciate our indefatigable, energetic, dynamic and vibrant young Governor and the leader of our party in Kogi State, His Excellency, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, for his giant efforts that culminated in our victory at the just concluded polls.

For the first time, we have a detribalized Governor, that believes in the progress of the party and also recognize the 9 federal constituencies in the state.

His love for the party and trust in us made him to provide all logistics for us to have a smooth sail at the polls.

It is good to note at this juncture, that the great success of the All Progressive Congress APC in 2019 General Elections was as a result of the purposeful leadership of Governor Yahaya Bello in the state.

READ ALSO  Kogi state is yet to record any established COVID-19 case, Sen. Smart Adeyemi, said as he Accuse Political Opponent

The leadership and membership of the Kogi State Chapter of the Governing Party has grown from less than 50,000 members in 2015 to over 500,000 registered members today. We have gone from a fractured and divided house to a formidable championship side. One does not change a winning team in soccer after the first half of the match.

There is no gainsaying that the current new direction administration led by Alhaji Yahaya Bello has achieved a lot in the area of security, education, infrastructure development, civil service reforms and human capital development, etc, hence there is need for him to consolidate.

It is therefore based on the aforementioned reasons; we the APC National and State House of Assembly members-elect from Kogi State unanimously endorse Governor Yahaya Bello for a second term in office.

We have resolved to put resources together to purchase the Gubernatorial Nomination and Expression of interest form of our party, APC for our amiable Governor to contest the 2019 governorship election in Kogi State.

We have also resolved to commence work toward his reelection bid at our various constituencies to meet with stakeholders like party leaders, traditional rules, youths and women groups, opinion molders etc, to spread the gospel of GYB to them.

We are all determined to mobilize as many people as possible to deliver our various constituency for the success of our Governor and the party at the poll, been a detribalized individual who only believes in developing the entire state without considering tribe or religion.

READ ALSO  Kogi Huber: Igala group rejects traditional rulers’ endorsement of Gov. Yahaya Bello

We hereby wish to inform those intending to cause disaffections in our party APC to desist as our party under our able state chairman, Hon Abdullahi Bello is intact and rancor free.

It is pertinent to note that the Governor that delivered 2 senatorial seats out of 3, 7 House of Representatives seats out of 9 and 25/25 seats of the Kogi State House of Assembly is the true leader that really loves the progress of the party, there is no reason he will not be given the party's ticket.

In the same vein, we wish to assure the National Leadership of our party led by Their Excellencies, President Muhammadu Buhari nad Comrade Adams Oshiomole that Kogi State APC is not in any crisis whatsoever. Those who run to the National Secretariat with stories to the contrary are persons who are not known to the APC in Kogi State as members or stakeholders. They are spoilers enlisted to do the dirty deeds of the opponents of the party and must be ignored for our continued progress.

We insist that our party procedures, due process and the rule of law must be the only considerations on how our flag-bearer for November 2019 Governorship Election emerge.

It is also good to let the opposition know that there is no vacancy in Lugard House, Lokoja till January, 2024 when His Excellency Alhaji Yahaya Bello would be rounding up his second term in office.

We therefore call on all and sundry to rally round the current administration in the state in respective of political affiliations to succeed for the benefit of all.

The forum by this communiqué therefore, calls on party leaders from the Wards, Local Government, State and National Levels to support Governor Yahaya Bello and APC to secure another 4 years for him to move the state to the next level.

READ ALSO  Bassa Kwomu accused OHIOGBA OF MOZUM, HRH KHALID BUKAR Of supplying ARMS TO EGBURA Youths IN BIROKO: Egbura koto news:

RT. Hon. Prince Matthew Kolawole- Speaker KSHA
Kabba/Bunu State Constituency

Senator Jibril Isah Echocho,
Kogi East Senator Elect

Senator Yakubu Oseni
Kogi Central Senator Elect

Hon David Zacharia
Idah Federal Constituency

Rt Hon Hassan Abdullahi
Dekina/Bassa Federal Constituency,

Hon Abdullahi Ibrahim
Ankpa Federal Constituency

Hon Tijani Damisa
Okene/Ogori-Magongo Federal

Hon. Isah Okofi
Lokoja/Koto Federal Constituency

Hon. Joseph Asuku Bello
Adavi/Okehi Federal Constituency

Hon Idris Lawal
Ajaokuta Federal Constituency

Hon. Bello Hassan Balogun
Ajaokuta State Constituency

Hon. Muktar Bajeh
Okehi State Constituency

Hon Ibrahim Usman Okadigbo
Adavi State Constituency

Hon. Lawi A.T. Ahmed
Okene 1 State Constituency

Hon Moses Akande
Ogori/Magongo State Constituency

Hon. Ahmed Dahiru (Hacco)
Okene II State Constituency

Hon. John Abbah
Ibaji State Constituency

Hon Suleiman Attajachi Musa
Idah State Constituency

Hon Amodu Seidu Barry
Ofu State Constituency

Hon. Cosmas Ilemona Atabor
Igalamela/Odolu State Constituency

Hon Ahmed Mohammed Ahmed
Ankpa I State Constituency

Hon Rabiu Momoh Alfa
Ankpa II State Constituency

Hon Ujah Alewo Anthony
Olamaboro State Constituency

Hon. Prince Musa Attai H. C
Omala State Constituency

Hon Rai Daniya
Bassa State Constituency

Hon. Enema Paul
Dekina/Okura State Constituency

Hon. Moses Edoko Ododo
Dekina/Biraidu State Constituency

Hon. Isah T. Umar
Lokoja I State Constituency

Hon. Hon Idris Ndako
Lokoja II State Constituency

Hon Amb. Kilani Olumo
Ijumu State Constituency

Hon. Jimoh Musa Omiata
Yagba East State Constituency

Hon. Bello Ademola
Mopa-Muro State Constituency

Hon. Deronke Aro
Yagba West State Constituency

Hon. Mohammed Abubakar Tanko
Kogi/Koton-Karfe State Constituency

Want To Support Us By Donating Click Here


Article Rating


Stories You May find Interesting

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments